Still Learning to shoot

Forums Reese Bottom Chat Room Still Learning to shoot

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous
      Inactive

After this last F class shoot, I’m still learning to shoot. That may sound dumb, because I’m sure we are all still learning at every match, or at least I would think we should be. This sport is relatively new to me. Yes, I’ve been shooting since I was a youngster ( at deer and other animals), but never at the distances and with the quality equipment we are using now. To say I’m addicted would be an understatement. At the last match, I was shooting with a new bipod that I bought from Steve Gilley and I was a little disappointed with the scores in the first two rounds, too many 9’s. Doug and I were talking about our grip of the rifle and I decided in my last round to change my grip. I realize that every shooter and every setup requires a different approach. Maybe the grip change was needed with the new bipod because of the wider footprint, much wider than the Harris. With the Harris I had to use thumb pressure on top of the stock. In the last round of the recent f class shoot I decided to ditch the thumb pressure and see what happened. In my opinion, the conditions were worst in the last round for me, as compared to the other rounds, and I shot a 198. Did the grip make that much difference? I am incline to think so, it will take additional shooting to tell, but with that 198, it pushed me to my best f class score yet…187. I hope to improve on that with time, but I have to say, that little .223 has really impressed me. I would have never thought it would shoot that well. Looks like Britt Jones builds shooters in any caliber desired.