New Shooter

Forums Reese Bottom Chat Room New Shooter

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Michael Claunch
      Participant

Enjoyed being at Reese Bottom in February. It’s been almost 30 years since I shot in a competitive match. I have a rifle coming and have been pulling together components to set up for the FTR class. I noticed that Nightforce and Sightron scopes seem to be the most popular. Looking at a SIII Sightron but not sure about which power would be appropriate. the 6x32x56 or the 10x50x60. Any pros or cons? About the “new shooter” , when I started shooting for the team back then you were considered “new” until you had been burned at a National level match. You had to have a certain number of “new” shooters for a team to compete at a national level match like the nationals at Camp Perry, Ohio. After that you were considered “old”.

Al Barr
      Participant

Michael, both scopes that you mention will work. I own both brands, and will say that both will work. I have two of the NF 12-42 BR scopes, and they are my favorites.

I have learned that that the only way to “buy” points is via practice and experience. If your budget allows you choices; get the best proven equipment that you can. If not, then opt to spend what you have on practice.

Wynne Echols
      Keymaster