Lapua or Norma Brass??????

Forums Reese Bottom Chat Room Lapua or Norma Brass??????

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author

Lapua or Norma brass I know they are both good but one has got to be better than the other.Who can tell me the better one?

Anonymous
      Inactive

Surrell, I have used both and they are both great brass. Lapua does not make brass for 300 Wsm so Norma is what I use. I retired some of the first brass I bought after 15 loadings and never had a split neck! I use Lapua in my Br and my 6.5 and have never had any problems with them either. Can not go wrong with either in my opinion.

Al Barr
      Participant

Surrell, I have used both and have found both to be quality brass. A shooter would most likely wear out several barrels testing for a “best”.

Steve and Al they are both top of the line brass I have a lot more Lapua than Norma.I do have some Lapua that I have been shooting for 15 years and lost some due to cracked neck only two in 308 but I have just started trying the Norma brass have some in 308 and 300WM and so far they are doing good will have to see if it last……

Anonymous
      Inactive

I recently bought an annealing machine and plan on annealing all my brass after 3 firings. Hopefully this will help maintain better neck tension and extend the brass life even farther. Is this often enough or should I anneal after every firing?

Al Barr
      Participant

Hey Steve, which brand of annealer did you buy?

Anonymous
      Inactive

Benchsorce and love it.

Tony Graham
      Participant

Surrell,
      The only difference between Lapua and Norma are the flash holes! Both are the best of the best. Lapua punch the flash holes and Norma drill out the flash holes! I shoot Lapua when I can get them in a particular cartridge and shoot Norma or RWS on everything else. If you have Lapua, deburr the flash holes and you are good to go. Norma cases do not require deburring.
      Tony

Tony Graham
      Participant

Surrell,