Reply To: Reading the wind

Forums Reese Bottom Chat Room Reading the wind Reply To: Reading the wind

Anonymous
Inactive

Wynne, Thank you Wynne those thoughts a greatly appreciated.

Wynne, there is no quick fix to reading the wind, and even the best wind reader in the world blows it at one time or another. If that didn’t happen then we all would be shooting X’s. I have spent hundreds of hours studying the wind and in shooting in the wind. That is really the only way to really learn is to shoot on those days when the wind is blowing.

Right after I retired from the Corps, I started shooting a game called BPCRS ( Black Powder Cartridge Rifle Silhouette ) this is a team sport as it is shot with Iron Sights only and each shooter is allowed a spotter. In this sport any shooter is only as good as his spotter. I became dedicated to being the best spotter I could as another mans score was dependent on my spotting, If I wasn’t shooting good one day or another I was still going to do the best job I could for “MY” shooter. One year at the Nationals held in Raton, NM a friend was spotting for me. At the Nationals you shoot for two days either Monday and Wednesday or Tuesday and Thursday. The National is a 60 animal shoot with 15 each of each target each day. Targets are a steel cutout of four animals Chickens shot at 200 meters, Pigs shot at 300 meters, Turkeys shot at 385 meters and Rams shot at 500 meters. My second day of shooting was Wednesday when I got up that morning the wind was blowing steady at 45 mph with gust’s of 55 mph. When we got to the range it had actually gotten worse. It was so bad that they had to take vice grip pliers and clamp the animals to the rail as they would not stand there alone, and those Rams weigh 75 lbs.